NEW MEXICO INSTITUTE OF MINING AND TECHNOLOGY FACULTY SENATE MEETING

Friday, May 9, 2014 Workman 101 10:00 a.m. MINUTES

- **1. Call to order -** President Richard Sonnenfeld called the meeting to order at 10:05 a.m.
- 2. Approval of the 2014 Graduates

D. Raymond called for an approval of the list of May 2014 graduates and S. Sessions seconded.

An error was discovered: Sara R. Bryant and David Lee Butler were removed from the list of graduates.

- 3. Brief Announcements
 - a. Registrar Sara G. Faculty are to arrive around 8:30 tomorrow morning for commencement.
 - b. VPAA Summer salary, VPAA search M. Dezember Met with President and apprised him on what the Council of Chairs has sent in. Dr. budgets. Shari needed something to put into place for this summer so it seems that there was a sense of urgency getting it done this semester. Chair of Committee K. Minschwaner and Shari will work on breaking it down into two parts; the part time instruction and summer pay for our full tim

5. Brown Award –

A brief description of the Brown Award was read and the criteria for eligibility. Bachelor of Science degree – highest in scholarship, conduct and leadership.

Nominations from the floor: Isabel Louise McCoy - Dr. Raymond Joe Thomas Runnels – Dr. Zagrai Megan Marie Breiner - Dr. Heagy Kevin Alan Martin Ring - Dr. Burleigh

Discussion was held and the membership was shown the students' GPAs. Members spoke on behalf of each nominee before chair called for a vote. Vote was held by writing down one nominee.

Isabel Louis McCoy is the winner of the Brown Award

6. Cramer Award –

Engineering faculty recommendation came from K. Wedeward who recommended Veronica Saeger and Nicholas Davis.

Approval vote called for by Chair. Unanimously approved.

Veronica Saeger and Nicholas Davis are the Cramer Award recipients.

Dr7. Venognicalc 20((A) et. + /P R </ 1768] DJT 602rd . 16(vag)/ra1.9(671()3)(20.9) 0T Tv FI/M(2(Tode) v5(1)-9(A)3)3(A 0t7

Mark M. Nominated Jesus Gomez, PHD Hydrology David Grow nominated John Schlavin, MSME

Vote was held by writing it down

Jesus Gomez is the winner of the Founder Award.

Bill Stone made a motion to ask Academic Affairs Office to send letters to all candidates that did not receive an award, which was seconded by Lorie Liebrock.

8. Adjournment.

By unanimous consent the Faculty Senate adjourned at 11:18 a.m.